A to Z Book Survey….

a2z

So I found this at the blog The Perceptual Page Turner. Not only is this blog pretty awesome and the posts thought provoking but the name of this blog is just brilliant. I found this A-Z challenge there and I’d love to hear your answers to! Here is the link to the original post hope you enjoy my answers! http://www.perpetualpageturner.com/2013/08/some-friday-fun.html

Author you’ve read the most books from:
Sir Arthur Conan Doyle: When I hit year six I became obsessed with reading older books. One day I found a Sherlock Holmes book and was hooked. I still think of Doyle as one of the founding reasons I decided to try and get into the world of publishing.

Best Sequel Ever: When I read Harry Potter and the Philosophers Stone, I fell in love with J.K Rowling and her amazing writing style. I fell for the dream of a magical world and the suspense, the great character profiles it was all, well, magic! So, when I read the second I was worried I wouldn’t be drawn in as much. I shouldn’t have worried even now I desperately read Rowling’s books, despite the bad reviews! A part of my heart will always be in the Harry Potter series.

Currently Reading: How To Win A Guy In 10 Dates by Jane Linford. I’m taking part in a #Sexmeupreadathon this month and I’m trying to get ahead so starting reading now!

Drink of Choice While Reading: A freezing cold can of Pepsi Max

E-reader or Physical Book?
I’m definitely a physical book girl but love my Kindle for the bus, review copies and when I’m on holiday so I can have lots of options with me without the extra baggage!

Fictional Character You Probably Would Have Actually Dated In High School: Nick from the book On Mystic Lake by Kristin Hannah. He seems like a big brooding character but also deeply emotion with a huge heart, oh, and he sounds incredibly handsome.

Glad You Gave This Book A Chance: Dance The Moon Down by R.L. Bartram. I really disliked the frontcover and was really tempted not to read the book but I gave it go and I’m so glad I did!

Hidden Gem Book: When God was a Rabbit by Sarah Winman

Important Moment in your Reading Life:
Starting my blog as it really kick-started my reading again, I fell in love with the community feel and it has opened so many doors for me.

Just Finished: Blood of the Rose by Kevin Murray! Read my review below!

Kinds of Books You Won’t Read:
This is difficult because I’m open to almost all genres. I guess the only one I normally avoid is science fiction. It’s not that I don’t enjoy it, it’s just that I often don’t understand all of the jargon language and then I worry that I haven’t understood the book as a whole. I prefer to leave it to people that really love the genre and can give it their full attention!

Longest Book You’ve Read: Maybe Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix at 766 pages! Although I must add it was my least favourite of the series!

Major book hangover because of: Remember To Breathe by Simon Pont. I’m slightly over this book now but at the time I fell in love with it. I was also getting over a particularly difficult relationship and this book made me laugh, cry, cry some more, and then look to the future. It was a book that really healed me and showed me that life isn’t always what we see at first.

Number of Bookcases You Own: I have eight extremely well stacked shelves!

One Book You Have Read Multiple Times:
The Chocolate Run by Dorothy Koomson

Preferred Place To Read:
Snuggled up in bed in my Pajamas with my cuddly toy Eeyore.

Quote that inspires you/gives you all the feels from a book you’ve read:
“So Matilda’s strong young mind continued to grow, nurtured by the voices of all those authors who had sent their books out into the world like ships on the sea. These books gave Matilda a hopeful and comforting message: You are not alone.”
― Roald Dahl, Matilda

Reading Regret: Not reading 1984 by George Orwell yet. I was supposed to read this years ago but kept putting it off and now I’m still waiting for the perfect time to read it. I just need to get a copy, sit down and get it read!

Series You Started And Need To Finish(all books are out in series):
I’m being a little naughty and not quite answering the question. I need to start the Game of Thrones series, but I haven’t started any of them yet!

Three of your All-Time Favorite Books:
The Book Thief by Markus Zusack
The Great Gatsby by F Scott Fitzgerald
A Week in December by Sebastian Faulks

Unapologetic Fangirl For:
Harry Potter: I know I’ve said it before but I don’t really follow any other series. Nothing has ever come close to the magic spun by J.K Rowling through Harry Potter

Very Excited For This Release More Than All The Others:
Katie Cross’s sequel to her amazing book Miss Mabel’s school for girls, I loved this book so much and cannot wait to read the next!

Worst Bookish Habit:
I lose bookmarks all the time, I can’t seem to keep an eye on them so I, rather terribly, turn over the corners of pages. Shock horror, worst habit ever! I hate it as much as you do!

X Marks The Spot: Start at the top left of your shelf and pick the 27th book:
Monster Mission by Eva Ibbotson

Your latest book purchase:
I really don’t buy books anymore because I get sent so many, but the last one probably was Orange is the New Black I bought it after I tried to watch the series on Netflix and then found out it was a book and I absolutely loved it!

ZZZ-snatcher book (last book that kept you up WAY late):
The Cuckoo’s Calling By Rowling…once again!

I’d love to see yours if you do it too — link back to me and then leave your link in the comments so I can come visit yours!

20 thoughts on “A to Z Book Survey….

  1. Kim @ Tranquil Dreams says:

    Looks like an awesome survey. I’ll be doing one of my own and linking back to your page 😉 Awesome answers! I agree with you on the Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix. Almost thought I wouldn’t finish it. Not one I’m likely to revisit unless I revisit the entire series 🙂

  2. Emma Robyn says:

    I’ve had ‘When God Was A Rabbit’ sitting on my shelf for years and some reason I’ve been putting off reading it, but if it’s worthy of Hidden Gem status I might just have to pick it back up. So thank you 🙂 (also, great survey!)

Leave a comment